Just Precious

I found an illustrator that I love

Posted in book updates by Julie Meyers Pron on July 10, 2009

Its really happening. The book series I’ve been working on is now researched and the first draft of books 1 and 2 are written. So, I’m certain I’m jumping the gun, but tonight I decided to do a little illustrating research because this mama don’t draw.

Sure, its totally premature since I still have steps about 1-20 of Dan Poynter’s Self Publishing Manual to complete before seeking out an illustrator. And I have no idea what this illustrator charges versus my budget (forget that. I haven’t even figured out my budget.) But I can totally envision his artwork in my books, so there’s gotta be a connection, right?

Alas, I’m bookmarking his blog so I can remember him but following the advice of my new best friend and fellow blogger and children’s book author, Kristie Finnan, who happens to be scheduled for a c-section of her 3rd child, a girl, the day before my due date. She tells me to call the local chamber and hire 3 local illustrators to “sample” their work. Makes sense. But I truly love Jeff from Colorado. Can I find someone who’s work I love just as much?

Taking a deep breath… because I’m about to jump in with step one and request copyright forms. Advice encouraged.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shannon said, on July 12, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Julie….

    I had NO IDEA you were planning a book series. How totally exciting. Wishing you much success with that. I can really see you doing that! So awesome.

  2. justprecious said, on July 12, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks so much, Shannon!


Leave a Reply

