Just Precious

DonorsChoose.org: Inspired to Inspire

Posted in blogging it forward by Julie Meyers Pron on August 16, 2009


While making my rounds through other blogs this weekend, I came across a post about DonorsChoose.org, a non-profit organization where teachers write proposals, requesting donations to fund projects in their classrooms. A former classroom teacher, I wasn’t just inspired to give, but I ended up reading through hundreds of projects available to sponsor. Most of the classrooms asking for support are in high-poverty areas, areas where teachers can’t just ask parents to give an extra box of tissues or a donation of $10 per child to fund new books for their kids.

As I became more and more inspired, I recognized the organization name; had heard about it, in fact, when I was playing around on wordpress.com, Just Precious’ blog-host. So I ventured back over to my widgets and added SocialVibe to my sidebar. SocialVibe is a social networking sponsorship. But rather than sponsoring me, I join up with a brand (in this case, Melrose Place because I’m so excited for the premiere) and a cause (naturally, I selected DonorsChoose) and install a badge on my site. (You can select your cause and brand and put your badge up on WordPress, Blogger, Typepad, Facebook, MySpace and more).

Now what? Now I’m encouraging each of you to click through my badge to donate (in the sidebar on the right). You don’t even have to donate (though it would be nice, wouldn’t it?)  But just clicking through helps to support DonorsChoose, supporting classrooms nationwide. Go ahead, click now and see where it takes you.

But wait! If you donate, come back and tell me about it by commenting. We all want to know who we’re helping and why. I don’t care if you donate $1 or $100. If you do donate, please comment here and share your giving with others. Its inspirational.

There are so many other ways to help, but here’s one where I’m participating. Click over to We All Fall Down, where I learned about DonorsChoose.org. Read Cindy’s blogpost and comment to her post, telling her which classroom project you would give a donation. She’ll select one of the entrants and give that person a $25 gift card to donate to her favorite project.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Felonious Monk said, on August 16, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    I’m always happy to help a fellow SV member, you picked a great Charity to help out. Good luck with it.

    Monk

    http://monkspoint.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

