Just Precious

5 Things… I forgot to bring to the hospital

Posted in 5 Things..., Baby Gifts by Julie Meyers Pron on August 31, 2009

Heading to the hospital for a baby delivery? Consider adding these to your list:

  1. Box of tissues. I was SO sick the week I delivered. And cheap hospital tissues don’t wipe it. When the husband went home to shower, he was instructed to only come back if he has a box of Kleenex.
  2. Baby Book. I had the best of intentions for bringing this with me. But the baby arrived before my amazon.com order did. Here’s the book I ordered, it arrived the day we came home.
  3. Cash. Again, we’re so used to using credit, that we forget cash for things like vending machines and hospital cafeterias. Sigh.
  4. Thank you notes. I know, it seems silly because they are just doing their jobs. But each time I’ve been in the hospital I’ve left feeling like I’m leaving behind new friends. And while I shout out “thanks! Bye-bye!”, I think how nice it would have been to write a note of appreciation. That, and you can write them for all the flowers and things you receive in the hospital, so you won’t have to do it later.
  5. Comfortable pillow. I was wrong, they don’t have comfortable pillows (or beds, for that matter.) Bring your own. (okay, a bed may be a little difficult.)
Leave a Reply

