Just Precious

Happy Birthdays

Posted in Uncategorized by Julie Meyers Pron on September 15, 2009

 

Friday’s Facebook Status: can’t believe she has a 6-year-old, a 3-year old and a 4-week-old.

Saturday’s Facebook Status: can’t believe she has a 6-year-old, a 4-year old and a 4-week-old.

Sunday’s Facebook Status: can’t believe she has a 6-year-old, a 4-year old and a 1-month-old.

Yes, its that time of year at our house. Birthday time. No, it wasn’t planned. My boys were born 2 years and 20 hours apart. To the minute. In the same hospital room. My daughter came along 3 years, 11 months and 1 day later.  Always a busy time for us, this year we’re hosting 3 parties in 3 days. 

I try to make birthdays big around our house. I’m not hosting a Bar Mitzvah or wedding every year, but a person’s birthday is worth celebrating and recognizing. In-other-words, not just another boring day. The first time that I realized that a birthday is not a holiday, was the year my mom explained that she still had to go to work on her birthday.

Making a birthday a holiday isn’t for everyone. In fact, it was a sort of culture clash for me when I realized that my husband hadn’t celebrated his birthday with his family in years. They didn’t call, didn’t always write and he hasn’t been gifted since I met him. It still takes a lot for him to celebrate my birthday.  Our first birthday together time he got my mom flowers–very sweet. But the following few years my birthday was never a celebration as I had hoped. I remind him time and again that the day is approaching and usually end up making my own plans. We  do this for the kids, if not for me. Attentioning a birthday is meaningful, its respectful, and it shows one cares. And while I know he cares, he needs to show it and to teach it to our children. He is, after all, the children’s role model.

I’m grateful for every birthday we can celebrate. And I’m hoping for many, many more for all of us. I’ll attention birthdays with the respect and celebration I think they deserve: for they celebrate a life. And I’ll teach my children to recognize these days as a cause for celebration with that same respect.

[This was written the last week of August. Sigh. Someday I’ll catch up… It was originally written to celebrate the American Cancer Society’s More Birthdays Campaign.]

Leave a Reply

