Just Precious

Shrimp with Rice

Posted in Just Precious is Cookin' by Julie Meyers Pron on October 12, 2009

First, I need to tell you that my kids LOVE Popcorn Shrimp. Which, you can pull off really easily at a lot of restaurants. Especially when you get Chinese (order Sweet & Sour Shrimp with sauce on the side.) So, tonight, I ventured out a little. I convinced them that Shrimp with out the popcorn is still Shrimp. And they’ll like it just as well.

Tonight’s dinner is a very big adaptation from Real Simple October 2009’s Creamy Rice with Roasted Shrimp. In fact, they may be annoyed that I’m linking to them. Because I made a lot of changes. Biggest adaptations: get rid of the Arborio rice because I just simply saw no point in spending $6+ on a fancy box of rice. And delete the garlic. Because I don’t cook with garlic. Of course, you can toss some in and cook with the onions if you want to. Oh, and the RS recipe calls for cooking the rice with white wine. I only have red in my house right now. (It was a fun weekend.)

Ingredients:

1.5 cups uncooked rice (I used Minute Brown Rice)
1/2 large Mayan onion
1.5 cups water
1 lb bag cooked, peeled, deveined frozen shrimp (thawed)
2 pts grape tomatoes
about 1 teaspoon each celery salt, basil
about 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper
1 Tablespoons EVOO

Get Cookin’:

In a sauce pan:

  • chop onion and saute in 1 Tablespoon oil (about 5 minutes)
  • add water and bring to a boil
  • stir in rice, then reboil. Simmer for approx. 5 minutes
  • After cooked, the rice will be a little dry. I added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water, stirred and replaced the lid. If you want more flavor, add chicken or veggie broth instead of water.

In a large rimmed cookie sheet:

  • toss (gently) tomatoes, shrimp, 1 tablespoon EVOO and seasonings. I eyeballed it and did a sniff test. (yes, sniff-testing works around here).
  • Place in the oven for 20 minutes
  • Serve over the rice.

Star power?   Upon smelling (about 10 minutes before dinner) Middle announced: “Yum! I’m gonna love this dinner!” (Gosh, I love this kid. He’s a miracle for my self esteem). The kids loved the shrimp. We’re talking 4th helpings. I probably should have used 2 pounds instead of 1. The tomatoes literally bombed with Middle. When they “exploded” in his mouth, his mouth opened. You can imagine. Big was cool with them. He only liked the ones that “explode in your mouth.” The rice, of course, was a hit. The huz and I liked dinner. The tomatoes and shrimped mixed nicely.  3.5 stars out of 5. (I couldn’t give it a 4 due to Middle’s response to the tomatoes.)

Note for next time: Add a few more shakes of the seasonings. And take the 20 minutes to go to the store for a bottle of cheap white wine.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

